What? Walking. No(t) Where.

Dear kids,

This post is going to be different from the rest, in that I’m not really telling you where I’ve been, but instead filling you in on what I’ve been up to and why I’ve not written enough lately. I will follow it up immediately with another post full of the good stuff, so feel free to skim. I am still aspiring to post more than once a month. So far that’s not really happened, but keep your fingers crossed and hope that I can realize my resolve for weekly posts. Send good vibes my way.

Part of the reason it’s taken me awhile is because there were a couple of weekends when I didn’t really go anywhere specific, other than work, yoga, and the dozens of random walks in between. Walks in New York are their own adventure. I do it so frequently and I’ve become so used to it that even though everything is still new, I’ve come to feel that because I see it every day, you do too and therefore it’s less interesting to you. I constantly have to remind myself that’s not the case.
Uncle Joey summed up walks in NYC perfectly: “you looking back so far you think your head’s gonna fall off.”

Empire State at night

Empire State at night

photo (2)

Standing right in front of the main Grand Central Station entrance (or one of the main ones) on a clear crisp day. The Chrysler Building was a great backdrop for the Station’s statued arch.

It’s like walking through a forest with really tall trees that push the limits of the heavens, but the trees are actually much wider and taller and made of reinforced steel, glass, mortar, bricks, etc. And instead of dirt paths we have concrete sidewalks. And instead of moles and critters burrowing underground, there are people burrowing underground. I walk here every day, and every day I see something new. Maybe the reason I’ve not written is because I see SO many new things that I get overwhelmed about how and where to start.

near where I work

***

I want to share a little with you about what’s up. 1) My new job is awesome. I am challenged creatively on a daily basis, and my coworkers are good, kind, hardworking people. 2) Because a lot of the work I do involves desktop publishing (creating stuff and making it look pretty — usually for marketing), I am now in the process of learning the ins-and-outs of really cool and complex creative computer software that’s a lot of fun to use. This is great because my creative mojo and I have been out of touch for over ten years now, and it’s time to get back in the groove. There was a time when I regularly painted, drew, messed with graphic design, a bit of this, a bit of that… Then I became a teenager and got hooked on the click and chug world of virtual socializing, car rides with friends, and the favored American pastime of farting off. This too will happen to you, but hopefully you will find ways to channel your farting off into creative works of art. Or channel art into creative ways of farting off. Whatever works.

So, kids, here’s what I hope you get out of this note: don’t ever lose touch with your creative mojo, and when you’ve got it, don’t ever feel limited or afraid. The two of you can do anything together. But when creativity is suppressed by anxiety or fear, it’s no longer creativity. And without creativity, all you get is behind.

I love you all so much. It means the world to me that you take the time to read this. I write for you, and I hope we can all be together again soon. (Maybe here in NY?? 😉

-Aunt Cat

Leave a Reply

